Europe is a popular destination for all sorts of travelers. Casual vacationers, business people, students, backpackers and luxury-seekers all flock to Europe's world-class cities and famous landmarks. From the fine cuisine of Paris, France to the Muscovy towers of Moscow, Russia, there is something in Europe to enchant and delight each visitor to the continent.

Do you need travel insurance for these popular European Destinations?

Europe contains the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Andorra**
  • Austria*
  • Belarus
  • Belgium*
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic*
  • Denmark*
  • Estonia*
  • Finland*
  • France*
  • Estonia*
  • Germany*
  • Greece*
  • Hungary*
  • Iceland*
  • Ireland
  • Italy*
  • Latvia*
  • Liechtenstein*
  • Lithuania*
  • Luxembourg*
  • Malta*
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands*
  • Norway*

*Schengen Visa Country

** Andorra and Vatican City, although not technically Schengen Visa countries, are only accessible through France, Spain and Italy. Therefore, you will need a Schengen Visa to access these areas even though they do not officially require the visa.

Schengen visa requirements

With so many countries packed into a relatively small geographical area, borders and visas can sometimes be hard to navigate. Luckily, many European countries have come together and agreed on one visa that allows visitors to travel freely between 26 European countries.

Proof of travel insurance is required for a Schengen visa. Travel insurance for a Schengen visa requires medical coverage and emergency evacuation. Russia and Turkey also require travel insurance for visas.

Essentially, you'll need travel insurance for Europe.

Even if you're visiting a country that doesn't require you to buy travel insurance, you still might want to be covered in case you decide on a day trip to a country that does require insurance.

Depending on your home country, you might not need a Schengen visa to enter the area. Most countries in North and South America, including Canada, Mexico and the United States, can enter the Schengen area without a visa.

Citizens of most African and Asian countries, however, will need this visa and are therefore required to carry travel medical insurance for the duration of their stay.